Posted by: Jan | January 7, 2010

From L.A.

Thanks for all the recent congratulatory messages. On Tuesday I learned that the surgeon did get the entire tumor. It was such a joy to thank her for a job so very well done and to see her happiness for me on her face. I am still draining too much fluid to have the drain removed but I got the okay to fly to L.A. for a brief vacation before returning to work next week. So Luis and I flew down here yesterday and are staying with his mother, Laura. They live in a neighborhood/city called Monterey Park which is on a beautiful, dramatic hillside facing the San Gabriel Mountains. This morning I’ve been outside sitting next to the pool, soaking up Vitamin D and watching the bluebirds. This is truly lovely.

Thinking of you all with affection and gratitude.  XX


Responses

  1. It was lovely to see you yesterday (and, as always, you were lovely to see!) I’m glad you’re doing so well, and yes, I promise, your energy will return!

    jj

  2. Hi Jan,
    I’ve been thinking of you a lot and am so glad you’re healing journey has reached this peak. What amazing news for the new year.

    I’m glad you had a chance to get away to sunny California (where currently there are torrential rains, which is a good thing, too, of course) for some rejuvenation.

    May your new year be filled with peace and health.

    (Hi Luis!)

    With love from Flagstaff,
    Jeff, Monica, Isabella and Juliana

  3. I’m so happy for you. A vacation is just what you need. When do you return to teaching? Anyway, enjoy the peaceful time of family and relaxation. Love you. Shelley

  4. Fabulous news, Jan. I’m more than pleased to read this! Excited to see you again soon.
    DS

  5. Hi sweetie! So happy to hear that you are enjoying your visit! The setting sounds beautiful. I heard it was 80 degrees in LA yesterday! Vitamin D is good for the body and soul! love, Vicki


Leave a comment

Categories